Stacy DeKeyser

books for young readers

about me

My twin sister Stephanie and me

(I'm the pudgy one on the right), and our mom. Mom is children's book author 

Dori Chaconas.

I think my parents still have this chair in their basement.

I was born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, the oldest of 4 sisters. We had a black cat named Puff, and a series of parakeets and canaries, whose names I can't remember.

Favorite things I did as a kid: Going to Brewers baseball games with my dad; Taking exotic roads trip to Madison or Chicago; Spending Sundays at both sets of grandparents' houses, and eating double Sunday dinners. 

As a teenager, I was not popular or unpopular. I was one of that vast group of invisible, semi-geeky (i.e. normal) people. I wore braces. Twice. I did not make the cut for cheerleader. I warmed the bench for my softball team. Which was probably just as well, since I liked the library better anyway.

 

Even though I am now Grown Up, I still feel pretty much like the semi-geeky teenager I used to be.

 

Except when I write. When I write I feel beautiful and graceful.
 

My second-grade school picture. I was not a real sailor.

trivia

Favorite food:
     Chocolate

 

Wil not eat:
      Coconut

      Raw onions

Birthplace:​

Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Sisters: 3

Brothers: 0

Now I live in:

Florida during winter

Connecticut during summer

(lucky me!)

Pets:

A black Labrador mix named Scout. She is afraid of ladybugs.

Favorite sport to watch:

          Baseball

 

 

Favorite sport to play:

          Does bike riding count?

          I also love hiking and snowshoeing.

 

 

Favorite book:

          I cannot possibly answer this question.

          For one thing, it changes all the time. But I'll read                     anything by Hilary McKay, Terry Pratchett,

          or Jonathan Stroud.

 

 

Afraid of:

          Roller coasters

          Centipedes

 

 

Jobs I've had:

Dishwasher

Laundry worker

Babysitter

Receptionist

Snack bar waitress

Proofreader

Copy editor

Hospital analyst

Medical transcriptionist

(Come to think of it, I'm still most of those things.)
 

CONNECT WITH ME

All content copyright © Stacy DeKeyser  2010-2019. All rights reserved. Site Designed by Donna Farrell